A Mid-Year Resolution…

Today, I made a resolution. I need to be a little more serious about finding a new job. Not that I really need a new one but I feel that it’s about time for me to move on to the next level. I am hoping and praying that I can find a job abroad but in the meantime I have to settle for just being here in the Philippines.

Honestly, I need a higher paying job so that I can pay my dues and fees for all of my application requirements for a job abroad. That’s just it. Other than that, I really don’t have reasons to leave my current job. Truth is, I love my job. I love what I do. It’s just that working with auditing and consulting firms are not financially rewarding. Ask my fellow CPAs who toil with auditing firms and they will surely back me up.

But in terms of experience, auditing firms are a treasure trove. Most people in the “accounting and auditing” world that I look up to would always suggest that, as new CPAs, we should start our careers with an auditing firm. The pay may not that be much but the experience and the learning we will gain is just priceless. They would say that just persevere for the next 3 years and from there watch your market value soar up.

I am trying to “persevere,” as they call it but is seems my cup can never be full. I want to become lots of things which is quite dangerous at my age – it would simply mean I still do not know where I am heading to. That’s a shocker, right? Me, the ever career oriented person, LOST!?!

But then again, some things in life change. As we travel and live our lives, we learn that we want things to happen. We regret some decisions we made and hope we can change whatever mistakes we did in the past. Some might even shrug off their shoulders and continue to live the same lives they chose before. It may not be the right thing to do but, perhaps, it’s totally late to change everything. I believe it is never too late to change. It is never too late to take a detour or a U-turn and head towards another direction.

So how do we know that we need to shift gears and change lanes? We think about it. We weigh the pros and the cons. We compare the benefits against the possible consequences. Most of all, We PRAY about it. We do not simply keep our fingers cross and leave everything to chance because that is a dire act of sheer stupidity. The key is discern and pray.

So far, I have made little progress about that resolution. I still have, yet again, to revise my resume (or cv/curriculum vitae) and update all my contact information. The fact that I languidly sit on all of these does not help, not a single bit.

I am going into my 3rd year this November 26th. That’s roughly 5 months from now. And the pressure for me finding a better (in a complete picture) job is mounting.

And about that “market value surge” thing – that I yet have to see or feel or whatever.

Nonetheless, life must go on.

Leave a comment